About CIM

The Institute
The Cebu Institute of Medicine(CIM) was established in June 1957 as College of Medicine of Cebu Institute of Technology and graduated its pioneering class of 33 students of the then 5-year curriculum in 1962.

In 1966, Velez College was established and the College of Medicine terminated its affiliation with Cebu Institute of Technology and became Cebu Institute of Medicine, a non-stock and non-profit institution, now affiliated with Velez College. It is located at the corner of F. Ramos and Ranudo Sts. Cebu City, Phlippines.

A Few Good Men
The people who organized the institution was led by its founder and the first Dean, Dr. Jacinto Velez, Sr. With him were Dr. Uldarico Bacay, the school's second Dean, Dr. Eugenio Alonzo, the school's third Dean, Dr. Renato Espinosa. Dr. Benito Antigua and Dr. Nicolas Escario of the Cebu Institute of Technology.

The Graduates
From its 33 graduates in 1962, CIM has of March 1997 produced about 3878 graduates, 29 of whom with honors. Some 90 of its graduates have been topnotchers. From 1991-1995, it has an over-all passing percentage of 98.23%.

In April 1996, the Commission on Higher Education recognized Cebu Institute of Medicine a sone of the three Centers of Excellence for Medicine. Since then, the school is classified as Level IV, the highest category, based on the findings done by the Commission on Medical Education. The past two years(2000-2001), CIM has been ranked number one. The passing percentage of those CIM graduates who took the Philippine Medical Board Exam recently(2001) was 100%.